The image “” cannot be displayed, because it contains errors.


National Issues

Colorado Senate Passes National Popular Vote Bill PDF  | Print |  Email
By Every Vote Equal Press Release   
April 14, 2006

Legislative Hearings Announced in Missouri House 25 Legislators Now Sponsoring Bill in Illinois Legislative Hearings Scheduled by California Assembly


The Colorado State Senate today passed National Popular Vote's bill to enact the “Agreement Among the States to Elect the President by National Popular Vote” on second reading. The favorable vote in the Senate is the first formal vote by a state legislative house on National Popular Vote's plan for nationwide election of the President. In Colorado, the bill (SB 06-223) is sponsored by Senators Ken Gordon (D), John Evans (R), and Lew Entz (R).


The whole Senate's action today followed a favorable vote on April 10 in the Senate Judiciary Committee. At that time, the committee heard testimony from Colorado Common Cause Executive Director Pete Maysmith, National Popular Vote President Barry Fadem, Dr. John R. Koza (originator of the plan), and Colorado attorney Mark Grueskin. Grueskin, along with Fadem and Koza, is a co-author of a book describing the plan entitled Every Vote Equal: A State-Based Plan For Electing The President By National Popular Vote.


The proposed “Agreement Among the States to Elect the President by National Popular Vote” in an interstate compact. The bill in Colorado would enact the compact in Colorado. The proposed compact would not take effect in Colorado until identical legislation is enacted by states possessing a majority of the electoral votes (that is, 270 of the 538 electoral votes).

“Although the Colorado legislature will only be in session for a few more weeks this year, we are hopeful that the bill can advance further in the Legislature during this session,” said Fadem.


In other developments, a committee of the Missouri House of Representatives announced plans for a hearing of the National Popular Vote bill. In Missouri, National Popular Vote's plan (HB 2090) is sponsored by Representative Robert Johnson (R) and Representative Jeff Roorda (D).


In addition, there are now 18 sponsors of the bill in the Illinois House (HB 5777) and 7 sponsors in the Senate (SB 2724). The Senate bill in Illinois was the first introduction of the National Popular Vote bill in a state legislature. That bill was introduced by Senators Jacqueline Collins (D), Kirk W. Dillard (R and Du Page County Republican Party Chair), James T. Meeks (I), and others. The House bill in Illinois (HB 5777) was first introduced by Representatives Robert S. Molaro (D) and Jim Durkin (R).


A previously announced legislative hearing will be held in California in the next few weeks. The California bill is AB 2948 and the Louisiana bill is HR 927.


In the seven weeks since National Popular Vote’s initial press conference on February 23, bills to implement nationwide popular election of the President have been introduced in five state legislatures — Illinois, Colorado, Missouri, California, and Louisiana.


On March 14, the The New York Times endorsed National Popular Vote’s plan, calling it an “innovative new proposal" and "an ingenious solution" and saying “Legislatures across the country should get behind it.” On March 1, the Chicago Sun-Times called National Popular Vote’s plan “thinking outside the box” and said “It's time to make the change with this innovative plan.” On March 27, the Minneapolis Star Tribune endorsed National Popular Vote’s plan saying, “the Legislature [should] do the right thing and endorse the new compact.” In a March 31 video story entitled “An Idea To Make Your Vote Count In 2008,” KGO TV said “A movement gaining momentum to reform the electoral college and change the way we choose our presidents.” Video Story.

National Popular Vote's plan was announced on February 23 at a press conference at the National Press Club in Washington, featuring former Congressmen John Anderson (R-Illinois and Independent presidential candidate) and John Buchanan (R-Alabama), former Senator Birch Bayh (D-Indiana), Common Cause President Chellie Pingree, FairVote Executive Director Rob Richie, National Popular Vote President Barry Fadem, and Dr. John R. Koza, originator of the plan. At that time, National Popular Vote Press released a book by John R. Koza, Barry Fadem, Mark Grueskin, Michael S. Mandell, Robert Richie, and Joseph F. Zimmerman describing the plan entitled Every Vote Equal: A State-Based Plan For Electing The President By National Popular Vote.


 National Popular Vote’s National Advisory Board now includes John Buchanan (R–Alabama), Birch Bayh (D–Indiana), John Anderson (R–Illinois and later Independent presidential candidate), Tom Campbell (R–California), David Durenberger (R–MN), and Jake Garn (R–Utah).


Please forward this newsletter to your friends and colleagues so that they can sign up on the National Popular Vote website at to receive our newsletter in the future.


Related Links
Illinois Senate Bill SB 2724
Illinois House Bill HB 5777
Missouri House Bill HB 2090
Colorado Senate Bill SB 06-223
KGO News Story
The New York Times endoresement
The Chicago Sun-Times article
The Minneapolis Star Tribune article

Comment on This Article
You must login to leave comments...
Other Visitors Comments
You must login to see comments...
< Prev
National Pages
Federal Government
Federal Legislation
Help America Vote Act (HAVA)
Election Assistance Commission (EAC)
Federal Election Commission
Department of Justice - Voting Section
Non-Government Institutions
Independent Testing Authority
The Election Center
Carter Baker Commission
Voting System Standards
Electoral College
Open Source Voting System Software
Proposed Legislation
Voting Rights
Campaign Finance
Overseas/Military Voting
Electronic Verification
: mosShowVIMenu( $params ); break; } ?>