The image “” cannot be displayed, because it contains errors.



EAC Awards Five States $10 Million to Improve Election Data Collection PDF  | Print |  Email
By Election Assistance Commission Media Release   
May 30, 2008
Good Data Benefits the Election Process, Chief Election Official Says

The U.S. Election Assistance Commission (EAC) will award five states $2 million each to improve the collection of precinct-level data in the November 2008 election. This marks the first time the federal government will issue grants to states to improve federal elections data.
The winning states—Illinois, Minnesota, Ohio, Pennsylvania and Wisconsin—will use the funds to develop methods and procedures for collecting data that other states and jurisdictions can replicate. The EAC will include this data in its biennial Election Day Survey, a comprehensive report on how Americans vote in federal elections. The EAC's 2004 and 2006 Election Day Surveys include statistics on key election issues such as voter turnout and registration, overvotes and undervotes, poll workers, and voting equipment and machines, among other topics.
"Solid data on how federal elections are carried out in all U.S. states and territories can help local officials make effective, fiscally-sound enhancements to the voting process," EAC chairwoman Rosemary Rodriguez said.
Ten states applied for the Election Data Collection grants, and winners were selected through an independent review process. The Omnibus Appropriations Act for fiscal year 2008 and Public Law 110-161 authorize the EAC to distribute the grants. The Act also requires states to submit data they collect to the EAC by March 2009. In turn, the EAC is required to evaluate the grant program's overall success, and provide Congress recommendations for changes to federal laws and regulations to improve the collection of data. Additional information about the program is available in the grant announcement.

Comment on This Article
You must login to leave comments...
Other Visitors Comments
You must login to see comments...
< Prev   Next >
National Pages
Federal Government
Federal Legislation
Help America Vote Act (HAVA)
Election Assistance Commission (EAC)
Federal Election Commission
Department of Justice - Voting Section
Non-Government Institutions
Independent Testing Authority
The Election Center
Carter Baker Commission
Voting System Standards
Electoral College
Open Source Voting System Software
Proposed Legislation
Voting Rights
Campaign Finance
Overseas/Military Voting
Electronic Verification
: mosShowVIMenu( $params ); break; } ?>